2 years ago

2 years ago today we had a u/s appointment to follow up from the week before where the baby was measuring almost 3 weeks behind.  There was no heartbeat.  I started miscarrying at home about an hour after we got home from the appointment.  That was only the 3rd time I saw John cry.  The first was when his grandpa died and then he cried on our wedding day.  I had a D&C 2 days later to make sure there was no remaining tissue that could lead to an infection.

As I think back to that day and the days, weeks, and months that followed, I remember the devastating pain.  I felt my life was over.  This was 2 pregnancies with no babies to show for it.  I felt I would never be a mother.  My heart was broken.  I will always love our first angel baby.

And now, I have seen John cry for the 4th time.  When he saw Kellen for the first time and got to hold her.  I have my beautiful, miracle daughter in my arms for this Mother’s Day.  I couldn’t feel more blessed.

 

Today, we went to Portland and met Lea at the Oregon Zoo.  It was Kellen’s first trip to a zoo and it was a lot of fun.  A great way to spend the day together as a family.  Tomorrow we will go to church and then stopping by home to change clothes and grab Daisy and we will be going to Florence for the day to spend time at the beach.  The weather has been awesome!  It was 87 degrees in Portland today!  It is supposed to be 74 degrees on the coast tomorrow–perfect!

Leave a Reply

