7 months and missing Jerome

She’s getting big!

Weight: 14lbs15oz (14th percentile)
Head: 17 1/8″ (65th percentile–her head growth is slowing down a little so that’s good 🙂 )
Length: 26 1/4″ (46th percentile–I knew the Pedi’s office measured her wrong! John and I measured her 3 times today so this is an accurate measurement!)

She’s doing great at eating her solids. We are doing 2 meals a day and she eats 2-3oz of fruits or veggies. Sometimes if she is still hungry, I will feed her some oatmeal too. And she always gets puffs, or freeze dried yogurt drops, or Cheerios after so she can practice self feeding. She does really well much to Daisy’s dismay–she doesn’t drop as much as she used to 🙂 Her pincer grasp is pretty much 100% there. So far the only thing she is not a huge fan of is peas but I can get her to eat them if I mix them with some sweet potatoes. I’ve given her organic jarred meat a couple times–turkey once and chicken once. She is not the biggest fan of those, but she’ll eat it. I think I just need to do it more often so she gets used to the taste. I am not really wanting to make her pureed meats on my own, so it is jarred for now until I get courageous enough to do it.

Her standing is doing really well! She doesn’t pull herself up yet, but we can stand her up next to her toy walker, the coffee table, the ottoman, the sliding glass door–really anything. And she will put her hands or arms on it and hold herself up for a long time. In the last week she started holding on with just one hand. And when we walk with her holding our fingers, she goes much faster on her own without us leading her at all, and sometimes will let go of one of our hands. I can tell she really wants to walk. She has also been trying to let go completely and stand on her own. Yesterday she stook unassisted for 3 whole seconds! That is forever for a baby 🙂 I am pretty sure now that she will probably just skip crawling and go straight to walking. I am guessing by the time she is 8 months old so she should be able to walk down the aisle at Lindsey and Nainoa’s wedding when she’s a little over 9m old!

She has also been babbling a ton more lately. She’s so cute–she will talk to her Wubbanub for an entire car ride and talk to herself in her crib for a long time too. Sleep is still going well at night. Daylight Savings Time really screwed it up for a week and now she wakes after about 7-8hrs of sleeping (usually between 4-5am) and then will sleep until about 7:30am. She has done one night where she slept 9 1/2 hours straight, but that was it. I am still really pleased with her sleep at night though! We are still struggling with naps though. When in her crib, they still only last 30 minutes. Hopefully she will grow out of that soon. She has been staying up for longer times though lately as long as she gets at least one good long nap in. Which she usually does at least once a day when she will fall asleep in her carseat while we are out and about. The last week or so she has fallen into the 2-3-4 rule for sleep. I am really looking forward to her napping better so we can have more of a set schedule during the day. But I’m not going to try to push it too hard–she’s just a baby 🙂

Her 2 bottom teeth are pretty much all the way out. And now her top left tooth is sooo close to appearing and I think the right top tooth will closely follow. She was fussing pretty bad a couple days ago and I’m sure it was the tooth bothering her. I just hope it pops out soon. I’ve heard babies’ smiles change so much though once they get those top teeth–I’ll miss her little gummy smile.

Swimming lessons are going great! This past week she started splashing with her arms more and kicking with her legs a ton! We also do an activity where I sit her on the wall and count to 3 and then say “Okay!” and have her jump/fall into the water. It is to teach her to wait until I say okay to jump in. Before I had to do all the work, but now when I say “Okay!” she leans her chest forward and falls towards me 🙂 So cute!

The MOMs group playgroup is still going–there are now 4 of us that come to almost every playgroup and then about 2-3 other women that come to about half of them. I’ve met some really nice moms so I’m really glad I joined and got the playgroup going. It is nice for Kellen to be around other babies also since I stay at home and she doesn’t go to daycare. Our weeks are actually pretty busy–Monday playgroup, Tuesday swim lessons, Thursday swim lessons, Friday infant storytime. And we are going to try alternating the playgroup on Mondays and Wednesdays because some of the moms can’t make it on Mondays. I actually prefer Wednesdays so I can get caught up from the weekend on Mondays since John is off Friday-Sunday and I don’t do much around the house those days–it is family time 🙂 So I have really been enjoying my new job 🙂 I feel like I am doing a good job of keeping Kellen happy and healthy and having fun, keeping the house clean, I cook 5-6 nights a week, go to a bootcamp workout class 3-4 times a week, and go outside of the house at least once every day. I was a little concerned I would get bored staying at home, but so far I’m not bored or lonely at all 🙂 I absolutely love being Kellen’s mom! Every night when she is in her crib, I look at her on the monitor and then look at John and say what a cute baby we have and how lucky we are. She’s such a good girl 🙂

In other news, today marks the 8 year anniversary of my little brother, Jerome’s death. I can’t believe it has been so long. I miss him and think of him EVERY day. I am so sad that Kellen will never be able to meet her Uncle Jerome–I know he would have been an amazing uncle to her. All I can hope and pray for is that he is happy and looking down on all of his loved ones with pride and that I will get to see him again some day. I want so badly just to give him one more hug…..it aches to think about it. 😥 I love you Jerome.

Leave a Reply

