105 days!

I got tired of writing how many weeks we are, so I broke it down in days 🙂  But for those of you who don’t like math, I am now 15 weeks!  I don’t know what it is, but 15w seems so much farther along than 14 weeks.  I know, I’m crazy.  I think it’s because I see a lot of girls starting to post their bumps on PgAL at 15w and a lot of girls start feeling movement around this time, and elective ultrasound places will see you to determine gender by now!  Though we still have 3 more weeks until our anatomy scan.  Ahhh!  3 weeks and we will know what we are having!  I can’t wait.  I can’t wait to start thinking about what this baby might be like and give him/her a name and decorate the nursery, plan the shower, and start enjoying this pg to the fullest!  For some reason, I’m just not quite ready for that but I feel like I will be once I know the gender.

Oh, for names we have definitely decided on a boy’s name.  Well, I’ve had it picked out for years and luckily John likes it a lot also.  Bryson Jerome Chess 🙂  Jerome is after my little brother who died when he was 17 (it will be 7 years on 4/7) and I want a first name that isn’t too popular but isn’t out there.  So I heard Bryson a few years ago, and decided it would be the name of our first son.  Girl names have become very difficult.  I know I want Ann for the middle name after my great-grandmother (the name all of us called her was Granny Great) and John is good with that and the way I look at it is he gets the last name, so I get the middle  🙂  So the first name I found that I like was with our last pg and I only made it through the As in the baby name book.  Addison–but it’s trendy and popular right now and we want a semi-unique name.  We don’t want our daughter to have the same name as lots of other girls in her class or school for that matter.  Than I was watching Grey’s Anatomy last pg also, and there’s a male doctor (who is hot, by the way) that is Dr. Avery, and I thought Avery would be a great name for a girl.  But, we have again learned that both names are pretty popular and trendy right now–not what we are going for.  So I for sure want a boy and girl name picked out before we have our anatomy scan so we can start calling the baby by name right away.  John feels we don’t need to make the decision right now and that we have until September, but that’s not my style 🙂  I don’t wait.  I plan, and execute, and get things done!  So I’ve been searching and searching and searching for names, and we are having horrible luck.  John shoots all my ideas down, but it’s not like my feelings are too hurt because I haven’t really been in love with any of them.  Not like I am with Bryson.  So we are sitting around last night and I was rattling off more names for John to shoot down that I really didn’t like, and he says, “What about Kellen?”  I’m pretty sure he was joking.  Backstory–Kellen Clemens was a quarterback for the Ducks when I went to school there.  We actually both went to business school together and had a lot of the same classes.  We studied together a few times also and he is a super cool guy.  Really good manners, respectful, smart, funny.  I loved watching him (well, all the Ducks) play football!  I don’t find him attractive at all, but it sort of came a joke amongst myself and my friends after I graduated, that I loved him.  I even made a shirt  🙂

He was a year younger then me, so he was the main quarterback my Senior year and my 1st year out of college.  He was great and the only reason he didn’t draft that year is because he got injured towards the end of the season.  He recovered the year after and drafted then.  He went 2nd round to the NY Jets 🙂  I was sooo proud of him!  He hasn’t played much though because they always had some big name quarterback to play first–boo.  But hey, he still makes millions just to sit on the bench  🙂

So yeah, that’s the backstory of Kellen, and I’m pretty sure John was pretty much joking when he suggested the name, but after I was done laughing, the smile stayed on my face.  I started thinking about it and have decided that I love it  🙂  It’s somewhat common for a boy right now, but not for a girl.  And I don’t see why anyone would make fun of her for the name Kellen.  So it’s at the top of my list right now, but I guess John needs some more time to think of it.

Oh, and I bought the travel system.  I’ve been searching since my last pg for a good travel system that I want.  I want gender neutral items for the larger/more expensive items so we can use it for more than one baby.  But of course for a travel system, there are other things that are more important.  I went off of safety ratings and then user ratings and price.  I narrowed it down to Graco and found a pattern that I liked.  I saved it and when I went back to look at it a little while after I lost the baby, it was discontinued  😦  And then I found another one and had it saved but it was discontinued as a few months ago!  I couldn’t believe it, I was bummed.  Back to the drawing board.  I finally found one at that is sold exclusively at Buy Buy Baby which we don’t have any in Oregon.  But Bed Bath & Beyond is the same company though, so I went and ordered it with an extra car seat base and used a 20%.  I didn’t want them to discontinue another one that I loved.

So I can’t believe it, I purchased something big–I felt like I needed a paper bad to breathe in….but John and I are both really excited to get it and put it together.  We should get it within a week or so.  And then I will have a stroller in my house…and a car seat.  Holy shit.

Symptoms?:  Still the same.  My appetite is a little better, but I still feel weird most of the time before/after eating.  Still have food aversions.  I have back and hip pain still–so bad it woke me up last night at 4 am and I couldn’t get back to sleep.

Weight gain?:  Nope!  Woohoo!

Best thing that happened this week?:  Probably making the travel system purchase and discovering the name Kellen 🙂

Any baby-related purchases this week?:  Yep, see above.

Milestones reached?:  105 days!

What size is the baby?:  An orange

Belly picture:  Not the best picture, but I was tired after work today 🙂  My really low belly right above the pubic area is for sure becoming a real baby bump.  It’s hard and rounded out, but you can’t really tell by looking at me because the bloat above that area is pretty good size.  I’m hoping it turns into a hard belly soon and that I actually “pop.”

2 thoughts on “105 days!

  1. We had names picked out before our anatomy scan, too. As soon as the tech said, “It’s a boy!” we were so thrilled to look at the screen and say hello to Matthew.

Leave a Reply

