2nd Trimester!!!

Woohoo!  So happy that we’ve reached this milestone!  Now, I’m ready for the 1st Tri symptoms to go away–I want some energy back and I would love to be able to eat a full meal!  I miss food!  The genetic counselor at the MFM office called us the day after the NT scan and told us that the preliminary blood test results came back and everything looks great!  The baby has a 1:10,000 chance of having Down Syndrom and 1:10,000 chance of having Trisomy 18!  It doesn’t get any better than that  🙂  They will combine those tests with the blood tests I have in a few weeks to get the final results, but I’m feeling pretty good about them!

We had our 13 week appt scheduled today with Dr. Dick, but they called about an hour before and said that he was at the hospital delivering a baby and wouldn’t be able to see us today.  I think that is a good reason to cancel, seeing how he might have to cancel on some people coming up in September to deliver our baby.  So I rescheduled for Monday.  The only bummer is John won’t be able to go with me and he’s been wanting to go to all the appts with me.  But I don’t think anything too exciting will be going on.  I’ll probably just pee in a cup, ask some questions, and maybe hear the heartbeat on the doppler.  I’ve been doing that about every 2-3 days here at home, so it’s nothing overly exciting.  I was mostly going to ask him about some hip/leg pain I’ve been having.  I think it’s my hips widening, but it’s super uncomfortable and is the worst at night when I’m trying to sleep.  Tylenol helps kinda, and I bought some Tylenol PM to help me sleep too.  I tried it for the first time last night and I passed out until about 2 a.m., but then the pain woke me up again.  And I didn’t want to take more of the PM so I just took more Tylenol.  I guess I just don’t want to take the PM every night but John said it’s not habit forming.  I’d just like to ask Dr. Dick for some advice on what I should do.  Hopefully my hips get done with this widening crap soon, so I won’t have to deal with it anymore.

Symptoms?:  Hip/leg pain, still can’t eat very much food, and still tired all the time.

Weight gain?:  I’ve gained about 1/2 a pound, but I’m not counting it until it’s a full pound 🙂  So none!

Best thing that happened this week?:  The NT scan and blood test results were great!  I came out on Facebook and everyone has given such nice comments.

Any baby-related purchases this week?:  No.

Milestones reached?:  2nd Trimester!

What size is the baby?:  A peach!

Belly picture:  Well, aparently people are noticing.  I went into my old store a couple days ago and 2 employees asked me if I am pregnant.  I told myself it was only because they know what I normally look like and don’t see me all the time.  But then I posted on PgAL about it, and they asked for a PIP, so I posted my 12 week belly pic from here.  Everyone says it looks like I’m showing and that it looks like baby–not bloat.  When I’ve been using the doppler, I’ve noticed the baby is way higher up now.  S/he is probably about at the bottom of the bump–about 2 inches below my belly button.  So much higher than even just last week.

 

Leave a Reply

